top of page
  • stasungera

"One For The Money" by Skye Warren (Book 1 in a duet)


"One For The Money" by Skye Warren

(Book 1 in a duet)


Stars: 2/5


Pages: 294

Genre/Tropes: Romance/Contemporary/Drama/MF Romance

Accounts of Skye Warren and Candi Kane in Instagram:



Blurb:

Finn Hughes knows about secrets. His family is as wealthy as the Rockefellers. And as powerful as the Kennedys. No one knows that the men in his line have a debilitating, early-onset illness. He's managed the business from a young age while his father served as the figurehead. All the while knowing there's a ticking clock on his ability to lead.


Eva Morelli is the oldest daughter. The responsible one. The caring one. The one who doesn't have time for her own interests.


Especially not her interest in the charismatic, mysterious Finn Hughes.


A fake relationship is the answer to both their problems.


It will keep the swarming society mothers from throwing their daughters at him.


And it will keep Eva's mother from bothering her about marriage.


Then the fake relationship starts to feel real.


But there's no chance for them. No hope for a woman who's had her heart broken. And no future for a man whose fate was decided long ago.


Grab your copy today!

Amazon Universal:



Review (there’re no spoilers so you can freely read my opinion)


I received ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.


When I start with my reviews I always try to give you my better point of view about the book I read. With this one, what I can only tell is that it wasn’t awfully bad, but nor good. It was just one of the few I read and in future I will forget completely about it. It wasn’t a story that made me live through the characters and their emotions. It was very superficial and I missed themes as some more digging into the traumas of each character. They were described as the best couple, well looking, rich and empatethic, looking like they hadn't any issues between them. I regret to tell you that in real life those are impossible in existence. I understand that this is fictional, but I hate characters that don’t give any fight or just fly through everything.

Eva Morelli is a woman who in the end doeesn't dictate her own future, because of all the things she does for her family. Ok, I agree that we are capable of everything for those whom we love, but she was described like someone without a bone. She doesn't agree with things, but she doesn’t express her opinion. She just sits quiet or ignores it. Fine, she doesn’t want to get in some discussion with anyone, but sometimes these discussions are very needed to make clear your point.

On the other hand, Finn Hughes is described as the typical/stereotypical playboy who does not give a shit about women, but always respects them because beforehand he tells them what he’s looking for and what not. Therefore, he’s also described as the deep guy who has his own problems and due to he doesn’t want to marry. Good… Until then it was fine. But trying to live like it’s your last minute on the Earth going to illegal places to play poker or watch a fight, I can’t see it like something worth it. Well, I suppose rich people have access to all what they desire so this is like some kink needed to be filled inside there selves.

I struggled reading the book and didn't see the end of it. It took me more than the necessary time to finish it (which tells a lot about my opinion). I didn't feel the need to get to the bottom of the story, because it didn't make me feel, enter the characters world and live through them. In my opinion (which could not agrees on with others), the book was very superficial with a manner of writing I quite didn't enjoy because it was expressed in very simple way. What I mean with this? It reminded me of books for toddlers and, please, in the last ones we find a lot of more built up vocabulary. I'm not criticizing the author and I'm happy that she has her public of readers, but I'm not one of them. The story just didn't get to me and thats enough to not try with the second book in the duet.

I wasn't captured by the words nor the characters in itself due to the described perfection which was tried to be mixed up with their internal problems giving it some depth. In the end (for me) it didn't get that result and it was just one more book which was boring.

1 visualización0 comentarios
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page